The best are here!

• 55 entries from 24 countries

• 15 crews from Greece

EKO Acropolis Rally is ready to welcome the FIA World Rally Championship back to Greece, with 55 crews presented in the entry list.

After eight years, the heart of World Rally Championship will beat again in Greece, for a rally that is synonymous with effort for humans and reliability for machines.

EKO Acropolis Rally is the ninth round of WRC 2021 and has attracted 55 participants of high quality.

The three manufacturer teams of Toyota, Hyundai and M-Sport Ford will visit Greece in "full armor", while all WRC2 and WRC3 title contenders appear in the entry list. At the same time, top Greek crews will do their best against international competitors.

As is the case in every WRC round, Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT is lining up with four Yaris WRC for Ogier-Ingrassia, Evans-Martin, Rovanpera-Halttunen and Katsuta-Williams, respectively.

The same number of cars will be deployed by Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT, with Tanak-Jarveoja and Neuville-Wydaeghe being flanked by Sordo-Rozada. Meanwhile, a fourth i20 WRC will be driven by Loubet-Labourdette, for team Hyundai 2C Competition.

On the M-Sport Ford side, Greensmith-Patterson and Fourmaux-Jamoul will share two Fiesta WRCs, whilst the British squad will bring in Greece another identical car, for Serderidis-Miclotte.

The entry list of WRC2 category is impressive and battle for victory is expected to be very interesting, as top three crews are very close in the standings. WRC2 points leader Andreas Mikkelsen will drive a Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo, as will his teammate in Toksport, Marco Bulacia.

Mads Ostberg will fight for victory in a Citroen C3 Rally2 while Teemu Suninen and Nikolay Gryazin, both driving Ford Fiesta Rally2, as well as Oliver Solberg in the brand new Hyundai i20 N Rally2 -that will make its gravel world debut in Greece,- are also about to be in the mix.

In WRC3 category, French tarmac champion Yohan Rossel (Citroen C3) will try to maintain his championship lead, which is an a priori difficult task, as three times European Champion Kajetan Kajetanowicz (Skoda Fabia evo) is coming to Greece for the win.

The two crews mentioned above, as well as other stars of the category, such as Zaldivar-Del Barrio (Skoda Fabia evo), Ingram-Whittock (Skoda Fabia evo) and Lindholm-Hamalainen (Skoda Fabia evo) will face strong “defense” from fast Greek crews.

The presence of Lambros Athanassoulas-Nikos Zakchaios, who return at the Acropolis Rally in a brand-new Hyundai i20 N Rally2 of same specification as that of Solberg-Johnston, as well as that of Panagiotis Chatzitsopanis-Nikos Petropoulos, who also make their comeback driving a Ford Fiesta Rally2 MkII, will be an attraction.

Also, the leaders of current Greek Rally Championship standings, Cypriots Alex Tsouloftas-Stelios Elia will participate at EKO Acropolis Rally in a Volkswagen Polo GTI R5.

Furthermore, Greek crews like Georgios Kechagias-Marios Tsaousoglou and Vasileios Velanis-Ioannis Velanis (Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo), Ioannis Plagos-Alkiviadis Rentis (Citroen C3 Rally2), Panagiotis Roustemis-Konstantinos Nikolopoulos (Citroen DS3) and Spyridon Galerakis-Kostas Soukoulis (Skoda Fabia Rally2), will do their best for a good result in WRC3.

Greeks Panagiotis Iliopoulos-Nikolaos Intzoglou and Dionissios Spanos-Sotiris Gotovos are all sharing Skoda Fabia Rally2, while Efthymios Chalkias-Andreas Vigkos will be at the start in a Ford Fiesta Rally2.

Cypriots Simos Galatariotis-Antonios Ioannou will share a Volkswagen Polo GTI R5 and their compatriots Petros Panteli-Kipros Christodoulou, will be looking for a good result in a Citroen DS3.

Finally, in terms of four-wheel drive cars, the current leader at Extreme E, Molly Taylor, is coming to Greece in a Ford Fiesta Rally3, identical to that of Greeks Nikolaos Ziovas-Christos Kouzionis.

For the EKO Acropolis Rally entry list click here.







e-genius.gr ...intelligent web software