Acropolis Rally 2017 - ERC 2017 - 4th Round: First win for Al Attiyah-Baumel

Cyprus 2017 AlAttiyah4th Round, Cyprus Rally
Surface: Gravel
Special Stages: 14
Date: 17-18 June 2017

The European Rally Championship remained on Mediterranean landscape, with Cyprus Rally being the second consecutive hard event of the calendar. The rally was characterized by hard stages and hot weather, which made the attempts of crews even more difficult. Nasser Al Attiyah-Matthieu Baumel (Ford Fiesta R5) took advantage of their experience in such events and claimed a comfortable win, after combining successfully speed and reliability. The locals Simos Galatariotis-Antonis Ioannou (Mitsubishi Lancer EVO X) finished in 2nd place of the overall classification, which is the best result for a Cypriot crew in recent ERC history. The podium was completed by Panikos Polykarpou-Gerald Winter (Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX), in a very good rally for Cyprus, as two drivers claimed podium finishes. The good news for Cyprus continue, as Christos Dimosthenous-Pambos Laos (Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX) finished in 4th place of the overall classification and won ERC2 category. Fellow countrymen Petros Panteli-Kyprianos Christodoulou (Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX) finished in second place of ERC2, in front of Italians Zelindo Melegari-Maurizio Barone (Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX) who

now lead the standings of the category. In ERC3 category, Turkish Umit Can Ozdemir-Batuhan Memisyazici claimed their first, win, in front of Deniz Fahri-Baris Kalfaoglu and Ismet Toktas-Sedat Bostanci, all driving Ford Fiesta R2. Also, Cyprus Rally proved to be really difficult for crews and machinery, with many top competitors retiring. ERC frontrunners Bruno Magalhaes-Hugo Magalhaes (Skoda Fabia R5) as well as Kajetan Kajetanowicz-Jarek Baran (Ford Fiesta R5) both retired in the same place, after going off the same cliff, where Murat Bostanci-Onur Vatansever (Ford Fiesta R5) also went off and retired. Among frontrunners, Nikolay Gryazin-Yaroslav Fedorov (Skoda Fabia R5) retired due to broken radiator, while Czechs Antonin Tlustak-Ivo Vybiral (Skoda Fabia R5) retired with steering problem and Cypriots Alexandros Tsouloftas-Stelios Elia (Citroen DS3 R5) had two punctures that cost them about 8 minutes and second place, which they held until that moment. In ERC2, Russians Sergey Remennik-Mark Rozin (Mitsubishi Lancer EVO X) retired after going off the road, while in ERC3 Turks Bugra Banaz-Burak Erdener (Ford Fiesta R2T) lost a lot of time due to going off and finished in 4th place.

1 N. Al Attiyah-M. Baumel Ford Fiesta R5 RC2 2:31:44.3
2 S. Galatariotis-A. Ioannou Mitsubishi Lancer EVO X RC2 2:37:56.3
3 P. Polykarpou-G. Winter Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX RC2 2:38:03.8
4 C. Dimosthenous-P. Laos Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX RC2 2:39:24.7
5 A. von Thurn und Taxis-B. Degandt Skoda Fabia R5 RC2 2:40:06.6
6 P. Panteli-K. Christodoulou Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX RC2 2:41:20.8
7 S. Savva-A. Papandreou Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX RC2 2:41:39.4
8 S. Antoniou-D. Pieri Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX RC2 2:42:16.4
9 A. Tsouloftas-S. Elia Citroen DS3 R5 RC2 2:43:47.5
10 R. Denktas-B. Dervis Ford Fiesta R5 RC2 2:44:21.7
1 C. Dimosthenous-P. Laos Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX RC2 2:39:24.7
2 P. Panteli-K. Christodoulou Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX RC2 2:41:20.8
3 Z. Melegari-M. Barone Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX RC2 2:47:36.8
1 U. Ozdemir-B. Memisyazici Ford Fiesta R2T RC4 2:56:49.8
2 D. Fahri-B. Kalfaoglu Ford Fiesta R2 RC4 2:58:45.8
3 I. Toktas-S. Bostanci Ford Fiesta R2T RC4 2:59:14.2

SEAJETS Acropolis Rally

Με τη SEAJETS αλλάζει σελίδα το Ράλλυ Ακρόπολις

Read More

Relive the 2016 Acropolis Rally

Relive the 2016 Acropolis Rally

Read More


Visit the official ERC site

Read More


Acropolis Rally History!

Read More
footer gif banner